The Jaspal Bhatti Humour Festival ‘18


There’s no denying Chandigarh’s favourite pastime is stand-up comedy. And the sheer number of comedy nights/ festivals that this tricity plays host to, is further testimony to our love for laughter. Here’s one such festival that annually celebrates the legendary icon of Chandigarh’s spirit of comedy  – The Jaspal Bhatti Humour Festival.

What  : The Jaspal Bhatti Humour Festival ‘18
When : Mar 1 – Mar 3 | 6PM – 9PM
Where: Tagore Theatre

Punjabi culture is synonymous with living life to the fullest and laughing at ourselves is a major part of this philosophy of life. Perhaps that is why there is no defining Chandigarhians’ love for comedy and also the reason why we have given so many talented comedians to the country. Jaspal Bhatti was no different. Often referred to as the ‘King of Comedy’, Jaspal Bhatti was an iconic figure in India’s history of comic figures.

In honour of Jaspal Bhatti’s undying spirit as a comedian, The Department of Cultural Affairs, Chandigarh Administration brings to you this year’s edition of The Jaspal Bhatti Humour Festival, showcasing some of the most talented comedians in the circuit today. The festival is organised in commemoration of the late comedian and is a three day event, from March 1 to March 3, 2018 at our favourite Tagore Theatre, an age old and time tested auditorium (much like Sir Bhatti’s sense of humour).

The festival will witness performances by the likes of Chandan Prabhakar, Aditi Mittal, Maheep Singh, and Abhishek Upmanyu. But it doesn’t start and end with simple stand up acts performed back to back. The festival will also showcase a play titled ‘Chowki No. 10’  by the Flop Show team, keeping the spirit of the smash hit tv show alive after all these years.

For the unexposed, we’ll let you know ‘Flop Show’ was an Indian sitcom of the 90s, written and directed by none other than Jaspal Bhatti. The satirical comedian, along with his team, would present a volley of sketches and short skits that took a dig at various societal issues and thus grew to such a height of popularity that even today there is a dedicated fan following of the show.

Here’s the line up of the three day festival, but if you ask us, you should just skip the timetable and be there all three days as soon as the clock strikes 6.

Day 1
Binnu Dhillon
Chandan Prabhakar
Maheep Singh
Parvinder Singh
Shyam Rangeela

Day 2
Aditi Mittal
Jaspreet Singh
Kartikey Raj & Gang
(winners of India’s Best Dramebaaz)

Day 3
Dr. Sanket Bhosale
Abhishek Upmanyu
Abhishek Walia
Chowki No.10
(play by Flop Show team)


About The Author



Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments